Why Organic

About organically bound minerals

What do we mean by ”organically bound”?

With regards to minerals it means that the mineral is bound to an organic structure.

About minerals
Just as with vitamins we need minerals in order to maintain health. Minerals are found naturally in soil, where they decompose and are absorbed by plants helped by bacteria. Natural leaching and intensive farming may lead to deficiency of certain minerals in an area.

In the sea there are also minerals, thus sea plants and sea animals can be a source of minerals.

sea

Some minerals we need in greater quantity. They are called macro minerals. Others, we only need in small quantities. They are called trace elements. Nevertheless, macro minerals aren´t more important than trace elements when it comes to our health.

The body uses minerals for many different purposes. Minerals are necessary for all the body’s metabolic processes, they are part of the blood and bone and is an essential component of enzymes and hormones to name a few. Our body is not able to handle pure elements very well. Therefore mineral supplements consists of so-called chelated minerals, ie. minerals which are bound to a carrier substance that helps to carry the mineral from the intestine into the bloodstream. It makes demands on the carrier substance, and in practice it appears that it does matter which carrier substance is used with a certain mineral.

There is evidence that organically bound substances generally are better to carry minerals into the body than inorganically bound minerals.

If organically bound minerals are so good, why aren´t we seeing them used in all dietary supplements?

This is because organically minerals are bulkier than inorganically. Therefore, it is often necessary to distribute the daily value on several tablets, which in turn affects the price. Organically minerals are therefore slightly more expensive than inorganically. The same issue applies to a lot of other stuff  where quality costs more than discount.

When the body easily utilizes the supplement, you will notice its effect much faster.

The effect of organically bound zinc

An instructive example of the organically bound minerals superiority in comparison with inorganic are seen in pigs. Pigs are biologically very similar to humans. Indeed, there´s so great a  tissue similarity between pigs and humans, that there´s talk about producing pigs only to use some of their cells and organs for human transplantation.

Pig farming also contains problems. It turns out that every third pig has some problem. One of these problems is a change in behavior. Pigs are sucking each other’s tails and biting them until they bleed. This leads to cuts and sores, bacterial infections and abscesses and is obviously painful for the pigs, which may lose the urge to eat. It is not natural for pigs to bite tails. It is a symptom of stress triggered by the fact that pigs do not live in ideal conditions. Optimum conditions for a pig is probably those conditions  that free-range pigs are given and also an optimum feed.

A Danish farmer did a study where he used organically bound zinc in the form of zinc gluconate, which was given to half of the pigs in one barn. Three weeks later he couldn´t  find a single tale bite among pigs that had received zinc gluconate in their feed. There were however found tale bite in four of the six lanes where the pigs had been fed with the mineral zinc oxide instead of -gluconate. Cases of pleuropneumonia and cough were also significantly lower in the pigs that had received zinc gluconate.

Today GoOrganic a/s are producing a wide range of high quality food supplements, and is continuously working to research and develop products within this philosophy.

organic

Pourquoi bio

A propos des minéraux organiquement liés

Que veut dire «organiquement lié» ?

Quand il s’agit des minéraux, cela signifie que le minéral est lié à une structure organique.

A propos des minéraux

Nous avons besoin de minéraux comme de vitamines pour notre santé. Dans la nature, les minéraux existent dans la terre où ils se décomposent pour être ensuite absorbés par les plantes à l’aide de bactéries. La lixiviation naturelle et l’agriculture intensive peuvent engendrer un déficit de certains minéraux dans certaines régions.

Les minéraux existent aussi dans la mer. Par conséquent, les plantes ainsi que les animaux marins peuvent également être une source de minéraux.

sea

Nous avons besoin de certains minéraux en grande quantité. Ce sont les macro-minéraux. D’autres ne sont pas nécessaires en si grande quantité. Ce sont les oligo-minéraux. Pourtant, les macro-minéraux ne sont pas plus importants que les oligo-minéraux quand il s’agit de notre santé.

Le corps utilise les minéraux à de nombreuses fins. Entre autres, les minéraux sont indispensables pour tous les processus métaboliques. Ils sont contenus dans le sang et les os et sont des composants essentiels des enzymes et des hormones. Notre corps ne peut pas toujours assimiler les éléments purs. C’est pourquoi les compléments en minéraux sont composés des minéraux chélatés, c’est-à-dire de minéraux liés à une substance porteuse qui aide à transporter le minéral de l’intestin vers la circulation sanguine. Cela implique des exigences pour la substance porteuse et dans la pratique, le choix de cette dernière s’avère extrêmement important.

Il a été mis en évidence que les substances organiquement liées transportent les minéraux mieux que leurs homologues inorganiques.

Si les minéraux organiquement liés sont si bons, pourquoi ne sont-il pas utilisés dans tous les compléments alimentaires?

Parce que les minéraux organiques sont plus volumineux que les non organiques. C’est pourquoi il est souvent nécessaire de diviser la dose journalière en plusieurs comprimés, ce qui impacte le prix final. Par conséquent, les minéraux organiques sont un peu plus chers que leurs homologues inorganiques. Le même principe s’applique à beaucoup d’autres domaines où les produits de qualité coûtent plus que les produits discount.

Quand le corps assimile facilement un complément alimentaire, son effet se manifestera beaucoup plus rapidement.

L’effet du zinc organiquement lié

 Un bon exemple illustrant la supériorité des minéraux organiquement lié sur leurs homologues inorganiques peut se voir chez les porcs. Biologiquement, les porcs ressemblent beaucoup aux humains. En effet, leur tissu est tellement similaire à celui de l’homme qu’il peut être utilisé pour la transplantation humaine.

L’élevage porcin pose néanmoins des problèmes, notamment le changement de comportement observé chez un tiers des porcs. Ces derniers sucent et mordent leurs queues jusqu’au sang, engendrant des plaies, des morsures, des infections bactériennes, des abcès, le tout étant douloureux pour les animaux. Ce phénomène causerait à son tour une perte d’appétit.

Les morsures des queues ne sont pas naturelles chez les porcs. C’est un symptôme de stress provoqué par le fait que les animaux ne vivent pas dans des conditions idéales, celles-ci étant constituées d’un environnement naturel et d’une nourriture optimale.

Un agriculteur danois a mené une étude où il a utilisé le zinc organiquement lié sous forme de gluconate de zinc, qu’il a donné à une moitié de porcs dans une étable. Au bout de trois semaines, il n’a plus trouvé de queue mordue chez les porcs qui recevaient du gluconate de zinc avec leur nourriture. Toutefois, les queues mordues ont été détectées dans quatre sur six couloirs où le minéral gluconate de zinc avait été remplacé par l’oxyde de zinc.

Les cas de péripneumonie et de toux ont été aussi constatés beaucoup plus rarement chez les porcs qui avaient reçu du gluconate de zinc.

Aujourd’hui, GoBio France produit un grand éventail de compléments alimentaires de qualité supérieure et continue la recherche afin de développer de nouveaux produits dans le même esprit.

organic